Nestled in the oak-studded hills, Hola School District, (Hola is Icelandic for hills) was formed in 1897 and the school and a four-team stable was built that spring on land bought from the Crown for $3.00. The district borrowed $495 from Mr. Maulson and Mr. Olafson built the school. Classes started in June of that year and Mr. Thorne was the first teacher whom had 53 students enrolled all at various ages.
The school suffered some fire damage in 1923 and the floor had to be rebuilt. During the same decade, 4 side windows were also installed on the West side and two “piano” windows were installed on the East side of the school. In 1929 a larger basement was dug out and cemented and which allowed for a passage to the outside. This was a welcome addition for the young boys who feared ghosts would jump out of the trap doors they were accustomed to using on dark mornings when they came to light the fire.
Each November, the area would be crawling with men in white suits, deer hunting in the area. Children were not allowed out for recess in the school yard and were encouraged to stay inside. The surrounding hills were perfect entertainment in the winter for skiing and tobogganing. The spring run off was just as exciting with lots mini rivers and waterfalls that rushed towards the lake about a half a mile North of the school.
On June 30, 1953 only 8 students remained enrolled at the school and nine were needed to receive a grant to operate the school.
The building sits behind a commemorative cairn which was erected on June 28, 1987.